Affiliate Marketing Glossary

  • category
    A classification that defines the purpose or content of a publisher's promotional method or an advertiser's business vertical. A publisher website may be categorised to indicate the type of website or content it manages. In the CJ Network, an advertiser can classify its programme within a primary category. A publisher classifies itself into one primary category and up to three general categories.
  • CID (company ID)
    Unique number which differentiates an advertiser/publisher from other CJ accounts. (NOTE: A CID is never used in your link code.) In the context of image pixel tracking, the CID tag parameter is paired with the advertiser's enterprise ID (the ID that enables a single integration across multiple CJ products).
  • click-through rate (CTR)
    The percentage of "clicks" for the number of advertising impressions displayed.
  • click-through, click-throughs
    A way of measuring how many people click a link online to see its destination website. Click-throughs are often used to set advertising rates.
  • CJ Account Manager™
    The user interface for an advertiser or publisher within the CJ Network.
  • CJ Network
    An open, online marketplace to which participating advertisers may upload offers that can be used by participating publishers on their websites. By publishing payment and conversion statistics, the CJ Network shows the effectiveness of every advertiser and ad to publishers. This open environment enables advertisers to quickly gauge the quality and potential of every relationship, allowing them to easily maximise the performance and scale of their online advertising campaigns.
  • CJMonthly
    Monthly newsletter for publishers featuring news and special offers from advertisers in the CJ Network.
  • CJ Performer™ (CJP)
    The CJ Performer programme is designed for qualifying top-performing publishers who work ethically within the CJ Network and have been paid at least $10,000 in commissions per month for the last three months. For more information on the CJP programme, click here [link to support topic].
  • Code of Conduct (COC)
    Contract describing acceptable and unacceptable publisher and advertiser practices that must be accepted before joining the CJ Network.
  • commission
    The incentive a publisher receives from an advertiser for generating leads or sales through its website.
  • CJ Affiliate by Conversant
    Name of our company, founded in 1998. Also known as "CJ."
  • CJ University (CJU)
    CJ's yearly affiliate marketing networking event held in Santa Barbara since 1999.
  • commission rate
    The pound amount or percentage that an advertiser offers its publishers as commission.
  • container tag id
    The unique identifier for the CJ tracking conversion tag.
  • content link
    CJ link type. Content links have the same underlying technical functionality as advanced links, but are unique in the way they present content to users. Use this type of link to provide your publishers with compelling content that looks more like an e-zine article than a standard ad. Content links may also contain other link types, such as text, banner and interactive links, or can even be complete web pages with heavy SEO saturation in the text; can also be useful for search publishers bidding SEO or if their advertisers requires them to use landing pages to drive traffic.
  • content & community publisher
    Type of CJ publisher whose promotional method focuses on the fundamental process of generating traffic and revenue through the content that they share on their website. Content websites feature information and experiences that may provide value for an end-user/audience in specific context.
  • conversion
    An event that occurs when a visitor click-throughs a link and makes a purchase from or generates a lead for an advertiser. Publishers earn commissions when conversions occur.
  • conversion rate (CR)
    The percentage of visits to a publisher’s website that convert to a sale or lead. For example, if one in every hundred visitors to your site makes a purchase, then your conversion rate is 1:100, or 1 percent.
  • cookie
    A small file stored on a consumer's computer that records information about that consumer. Cookies work with a consumer's web browser to store user preferences, login or registration information, and shopping cart information for websites the consumer has visited. In affiliate marketing, cookies are used to track the link or ad the consumer clicks from a publisher's site to an advertiser's website. Cookies can also store the date and time of the click for purposes of tracking the time elapsed between a click and a conversion to a sale or lead. Please note that the cookie must live at least as long as the action referral period.
  • Coremetrics
    Coremetrics is an online marketing solution that allows advertisers to track, report and analyse on transactions made from their website.
  • correction
    A correction reflects the amount of the adjustment entered by an advertiser, with no itemisation. Advertisers may enter a full correction or a partial correction.
  • correction data file
    A correction data file contains the monetary amounts to reverse for specific transactions. Sending this information to CJ via a file offsets the time and effort it takes to adjust transactions manually via the CJ Account Manager.
  • cost-per-action, cost per action (CPA)
    A metric for online advertising where a rate is set for every action that is taken by a user. Examples of cost-per-action (CPA) transactions are cost per click, cost per lead, and cost per sale.
  • cost-per-click, cost per click (CPC)
    A commission structure in which an advertiser pays its publishers a flat amount every time a visitor clicks through a link on the publisher’s website and is redirected to the advertiser’s site. See also pay-per-click.
  • cost-per-lead, cost per lead (CPL)
    A commission structure in which an advertiser pays its publishers a flat amount for every qualified customer lead generated from a link on the publisher’s site. See also pay-per-lead.
  • cost-per-order, cost per order(CPO)
    A metric that determines the number of orders generated relative to the cost of running the advertisement.
  • cost-per-sale, cost per sale (CPS)
    A commission structure in which an advertiser pays its publishers a percentage of each completed sales transaction made through its links. See also pay-per-sale.
  • cost-per-thousand impressions, cost per thousand (CPM)
    A commission method traditionally used in the advertising world in which an advertiser pays a set amount for every 1000 impressions served. For example, a website charges $1,000 per ad and reports 100,000 visits have a CPM of $10. Also referred to as "cost-per-mille."
  • creative
    Promotional materials advertisers use to attract consumers to their websites or products. These include text links, banner ads, buttons, email copy, and videos, among others.